Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

Just a quick question with regards to the front fork on my Giant Sedona CX. I'm quite new to this so I need a bit of help as I am trying to change the SR Suntour suspension fork out for a rigid steel fork. I am not sure what size the steerer is before I go an order a rigid fork (doing e-bike conversion and need a steel fork for hub motor power). Is it 1" or 1 1/18"?

Also, the store wants to sell me a Kona fork. I haven't been able to find what models of Kona fork is available until Monday when they open again, I am assuming this would be the P2 fork if suspension corrected? or do they stock other forks (Kona website shows no forks :( so doesn't help).

Thanks.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
I don't know, and it depends.

You can figure out steerer diameter petty easily. Can you post a pic of your stem/head tube area? The next step depends on what you have...

Kona makes a number of P2 forks. Some are suspension corrected and some are not. Some are for mountain bikes, I think they have some road models, and they probably have options for all three MTB wheel sizes.

If you're buying from your shop, bring your bike with you and let them sort out all of this.

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
If that Suntour fork is a 80mm travel version, its probably got an axle/crown (AC) measurement of 460mm. If its a 100mm travel version, the AC is around 480mm. You will have to subtract 20-25% from the travel version to get the suspension corrected AC length you will need to know. Example, if its the 100mm travel version, you will subtract 20-25mm from the AC and get 455-460. If its the 80mm version, you want 440-444. You could also measure from the axle to the head tube and it will tell you the unsagged AC length if you're not sure what travel version you have.