Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I been riding for over 5 years now and have always used platform
pedals since I could never get used to clipping in (I'm a Lefty, and had trouble with coordination on my Right side). Thanks to my friends always getting on my case about it, I am now reconsidering.

Obviously, they'll help me with climbing but my concern is getting used to them and probably getting in a few crashes before I'm a pro with them.

I would prefer getting a pair of pedals that are platform style and that enable me to clip in and also ride without them so I could ease into using them. I understand Crank Bros. has a pair like these.

Anyway, I'd appreciate your suggestions.

·
Plays with tools
4,646 Posts
Most pedal systems have a version with a decent sized platform around them. I'm a big fa of Time pedals, there version is the MX-X, Shimano makes good pedals as well, M424 or the like. In the past Crank Brothers has had some notable reliability problems but they've allegedly turned things around.

·
Magically Delicious
9,863 Posts
What ever clipless you decide to go with, make sure they incorporate an adjustable release. All of the Shimano's have this. As a newbie to clipless, adjust the allen screw full counter-clockwise to the easiest in and out setting. As you advance and gain comfort, you can tighten the release adjust to your comfort zone.

·
Trail Tire TV on blogger
4,237 Posts
What ever clipless you decide to go with, make sure they incorporate an adjustable release. All of the Shimano's have this. As a newbie to clipless, adjust the allen screw full counter-clockwise to the easiest in and out setting. As you advance and gain comfort, you can tighten the release adjust to your comfort zone.
yup.. made my life easier as I have leg/knee issues and can't really turn my foot enough to unclip normally.. I have mine adjusted so a quick yank straight out will release them..