Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Go with the Fisher if you're a taller clyde.

Hey Masaemon,
From my experience as a tall clyde, I'd go with the 29" wheels. I've been riding 29 for about 3 months and will never ride 26" again. At #280, you my have to get a beefier wheelset on the Fisher. I'm riding SunRhynolites with zero problems (6'2"/#225) on my converted Santa Cruz Bullit.
If you stay with 26" wheels, the Heckler is a great choice for a do all xc bike. Santa Cruz bikes are rock solid. Just read the reviews to be convinced.

Good luck in your choice. Ride on.
Leonard

·
Hisforever
1,867 Posts
never tried a 29r but

I can say for sure the Heckler is a solid frame, its a simple, strong bike. I also think the Dawg would be good as well, its active suspension will help you on the climbs moreso than the Heckler. I would probably pick the Dawg based on the suspension design. As far as the Fisher goes, whats up with the Genesis Geometry?, it also seems like the least burly of the bikes you listed. I have never really liked their bikes anyway.

Just my thoughts.
happy trails

·
featherweight clydesdale
1,385 Posts
masaemon said:
I put the 293 as a 29 inch option... What are your suggestions on a sturdier 29er?
Check out the Lenz Sport's "Leviathan" or Ventana's brand spanking new 29"er if you want to stay with full suspension. The Ventana is more Clyde oriented.

·
The Duuude, man...
3,537 Posts
Fattirewilly said:
Check out the Lenz Sport's "Leviathan" or Ventana's brand spanking new 29"er if you want to stay with full suspension. The Ventana is more Clyde oriented.
go 29, you WON'T go back.

235 pound clyd, and this bike roooocks...my 300lbs buddy has a bone stock one and swears by it, right down to the 28spoke stock wheels.

There's nothing stock about this one, but it's still a SUGAR baby...

·
The Duuude, man...
3,537 Posts
masaemon said:
Comparing those 3 bikes is like comparing:
1) Suburban
2) Excursion
3) Subaru WRX