Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I am relatively new to mountain biking have been a road cyclist/tourer for the past 3 years. Recently went on my first bikepacking trip and the remote snowmobiling trails far away from civilization were completely covered in water for stretches 1km at a time in some cases. The thought hadn't even occurred to me to think about my bearings, I just rode through. Most of the time it was below my hubs, but on more than a few occasions i was riding through muddy water that was deeper than my bottom bracket and both hubs. I had a new wheel build going on to this bike anyways so i am not worried about those old hubs, but should i disassemble the bottom bracket, pedals, re grease the jockey wheels etc? When i threw my bike into my car after the weekend a surprising amount of water drained out of the drain holes on the chain stays. I will now avoid and cary my bike through these sections in the future. But was looking for advice from people who have made mistakes like this before as i am heading out on a much longer trip in the near future. Thanks in advance!

Bike is a 2018 Fargo GX 29er

-Glen.

·
Registered
17,212 Posts
Hi there, I am relatively new to mountain biking have been a road cyclist/tourer for the past 3 years. Recently went on my first bikepacking trip and the remote snowmobiling trails far away from civilization were completely covered in water for stretches 1km at a time in some cases. The thought hadn't even occurred to me to think about my bearings, I just rode through. Most of the time it was below my hubs, but on more than a few occasions i was riding through muddy water that was deeper than my bottom bracket and both hubs. I had a new wheel build going on to this bike anyways so i am not worried about those old hubs, but should i disassemble the bottom bracket, pedals, re grease the jockey wheels etc?