Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
9,470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What a nice treat to come home to, after a killer early summer weeknight of building and riding!
:)

Now that I've been running flats %100 for a few months, I figured I'd treat myself to some real (i.e. slop-free) pedals.

Having picked up some straitline levers last year, I knew to expect the absolute best. I put all 56 pins in, and everyone went in straight and perfect (yes, even after a ride and 4-5 beers)- looks like all threads were chased and prepped. The bushing system is also very cool- igus bushings similar to Turner's, no grease required. Double "poodle clips" holding them together with aluminum races in between... topped off with quality instructions and extra pins.

I'll thrash them this weekend and report back :thumbsup:

Attachments

·
Hisforever
1,867 Posts
thumbs up FM, i like theirs and the sunline stuff as well. could they be one and the same? the brand names sure are close...

·
Super Moderator
20,810 Posts
SHAHEEB said:
thumbs up FM, i like theirs and the sunline stuff as well. could they be one and the same? the brand names sure are close...
well..sunline belongs to the same company as 661

and straitline:

"Straitline Components is a versatile division of Straightline Precision Industries Inc. (SPI), a family owned precision manufacturing firm in Sidney BC, Canada."

....so I guess different :)

·
Registered
927 Posts
The Sunline pedals don't have any concaveness in the pedal itself - just in the pins, while the straitlines seem to have a nice concavity in the pedals according to FM's pics above. I wonder if the lack of body concavity results in less grip or not.

·
Team Sanchez
4,369 Posts