Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
I fix choppers
993 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am posting this on the Banshee, Santa Cruz, All Mountain and 27.5 forums. You can call it a "shootout" if you want, but I am not a paid professional nor will I plagiarize a certain magazine that does those. I think it was a lot of fun and decided I would share my thoughts. Enjoy!

Many, many years ago as a hardcore punk obsessed teen I viewed the North Carolina band Corrosion of Conformity as sort of my "hometown" heroes. I first heard them on the '82 "No Core" cassette compilation. They were noisy and messy like most hardcore bands of the time, but you could already begin to hear the heaviness that would define them in the coming years. The biggest thing was that they were just regular guys like the people in my little scene. This was confirmed a few years later when my hardcore band got to open for them a couple times. Our bass player had gone to high school with them so I knew them on a first name basis. Again, just regular guys who rocked.

Over the years, I saw C.O.C. many times and saw how they evolved. They still rocked, but they added much more to their sound. I loved their earliest stuff through the mid to late 80's, but basically ceased listening to them after that. Their later sound was not bad and their fan base grew, but it wasn't the same for me. Their early noisy hardcore was upgraded to a more polished metallic sound that still ranked high in the "Sabbath sweepstakes" with a notable southern rock layer. I heard some of it on and off throughout the years, but really didn't pay too much attention.