Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to start racing XC...

I posted looking for races in the Northeast. I know where to race now...

but now I wonder...just how do you begin?

I understand that one should just show up, pay there entry fee and race a beginner race. But...I don't know if I'm a true beginner. I used to race road bikes years ago. I train with roadies all the time. I'm comfortable on trails and technical issues of trail riding. I am comfortable with mass starts. I know how to draft and sit on someone...along with sprinting and such. I know how to craft race strategies....and I raced at a sponsored pro level in snowboarding and skateboarding until recently. While I've never "raced" in a proper race on a XC bike it's been suggested to me today (by a few ex-NORBA racers and XC racers I work with) that maybe I should skip the "beginner class" completely and move into sport. Personally I'd much rather have it handed to me in the sport class than do well in a beginner class against people just out for a fun ride on department store bikes (or the like).

So I guess my question is this. How competitive is your average beginner class at your average race? What is the sport class normally like? Can I just enter a sport class without a license? Can I just enter the sport class without ever actually properly racing before? Ultimately (by the summer) I would like to be racing in the sport class. I'm just wondering if I should start there.

Also are there any links anyone can offer here for your beginner racer? I've lurked her for a while and have learned alot, which is what got me to think about racing anyway. It's a good use of all the time I spend on building my bikes, training and the like.....

·
Registered
545 Posts