Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I know this is a totally subjective poll but, what gearing are you ss'ers running? I'm asking because 1 I'm new to single speed's, 2 I'm feeling a bit wimpy after the guys I ride with (both 29"er ss'ers) rolled their eyes when I told them I'm going to run a 34 19 (I'm in the mid west where climbs last no more than a few minutes), and 3 I'm also doing a 6 hour race this weekend and am wondering if you all run the same gear ratio on epics. Not the best way to figure out your gearing but you have to start somewhere.

I realize I'll figure this out after more time on a single, but I'm just after the facts.

On a side note my 292, once the replacement shows up from fisher, is going to be very lonely. There really IS something to riding just one gear. Big Grin.

e

·
zeebot
1,125 Posts
I ride 34-21 for everything but am considering giving 34-18 a shot to see how much harder it is...I really want to push a bigger gear for the kokopelli race in a few weeks so I don't get smoked by the geared bikes.

Anyone in the long, sustained climbing area try pushing that gear? Like doing a legpress for an hour straight?

·
"the" fashion advisor
149 Posts
Gear inches are the key....

escamillo said:
OK I know this is a totally subjective poll but, what gearing are you ss'ers running? I'm asking because 1 I'm new to single speed's, 2 I'm feeling a bit wimpy after the guys I ride with (both 29"er ss'ers) rolled their eyes when I told them I'm going to run a 34 19 (I'm in the mid west where climbs last no more than a few minutes), and 3 I'm also doing a 6 hour race this weekend and am wondering if you all run the same gear ratio on epics. Not the best way to figure out your gearing but you have to start somewhere.

I realize I'll figure this out after more time on a single, but I'm just after the facts.