Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
pepito
640 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've been commuting on my ss (32:18) for a few months now, and as you can imagine, the gearing absolutely blows for any type of road riding. so i mix it up with as much single/doubletrack as possible. i find 32:18 to be just about ideal for me with the terrain and hills i have here on the local trails. so i'm building this road bike out of parts i've accumulated over the years, and i was thinking of ss'ing it. but i've been kind of hesitant to do that because i can't settle on a gear that would be suitable. i'm going to be using the bike for the occasional commute, but would like to mix in some extended weekend road rides. when riding my ss mtb on the road, i can clear just about every hill around here seated (34:18), but spin like a madman on the flats. if i build a roadie with like 44:16, i'll be able to move on the flats, but what about them damned hills? i really don't want to dismount and push up every friggin hill. what do you guys think? any gear recommendations? should i just go for it, or build it with gears (i have all the parts anyway)? any comments/suggestions/experiences would be helpful. thanks.

the_dude

·
Registered
380 Posts
Two teeth can make a big difference

I don't know what your commute it like, but I find 32-16 is pretty good for general bike path type riding. You can go pretty fast with that setup and I find I don't start thinking, "This is really a lot of pedaling for a small amount of forward motion" twenty minutes into the ride.

·
Registered
478 Posts