Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
rubber side down
458 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long story short, I have a brand new Blur with SRAM X.0 components-grip shift. The bike came with the axle not being able to get fully situated in the dropout because of a chunk of powder coating that was in its way. The bike was tuned to the not-so-good setup and shifted perfectly. Once I got the chunk of powder coating out of the way so the wheel set in the dropouts correctly, the shifting got all screwey. This is my first time dealing with SRAM, but figured the basics were just like Shimano. The limit screws look to be set up correctly, and the top and bottom gears are not what I'm having issues with. It ghost shifts in the middle. I try to adjust with the barrel adjuster up top near the grip shift. Once I have it correctly set up on that gear, it doesn't want to shift correctly for the next one. How do I fix it?

R

G

·
I am not personally familiar with the Blur, but I know on my full SRAM drivetrain that when I initially set it up I was getting a ton of ghost shifting, which was remedied simply by making sure the cable runs were as straight and tight as possible. I you have any slop in your cables it will cause the SRAM's to have a mind of their own.

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
as per 666 above but also check the derailleur hanger alignment.
Sometimes Bike shops bend the hanger slightly to cure annomaly's in the manufacturing process..
It may have ebbn bent to accomodate the deraileurs previous bad alignment. Now you've corrected it but the hanger may stil be out of alignment.

Personally, I find the run in period with SRAM to be a real pain, shortly before the rear derailleur falls off at the first rock sighting....

·
MTB aficionado
1,022 Posts
Initial setup will always be a bit painful.