Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
wants a taco
498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since im not super familiar with igh's Id like to get some opinions from those who actually have some experience with them.

Im a tech at a lbs and we had a customer bring in his new (less than 20 miles) S7 hub saying he isnt getting the entire gear range and that he noticed from sram's drawings that their was this plastic locater piece missing. We call sram, they send us a new one quick, I put it in and adjust the hub according to srams directions. It shifts great in the stand but when you actually ride the bike the only way it will shift is if you stop pedaling entirely, it will not shift under even a very light load.

Once again called sram and they are sending us a new hub and we are just going to swap the internals over and send the old one back to sram.

Sounds like everything should be pretty straight forward but In talking with the customer he mentioned the bike he test rode with the same hub was doing the same not shifting unless you stop pedaling entirely and I went and rode that bike and he was right.

My main question is, do all sram S7 hubs work this way or is this just a weird coincedence. I know the alfine hubs we have do not have this problem and really it doesnt sound like something one should have to just deal with or get used to and I want to make this right but dont know how. Sram warranty is as always great but I just want to know if the new hub has the same problem if its just the nature of the beast or if I should keep bugging sram and going through hub after hub.

Thanks for any input :thumbsup:

·
Bike Dork
1,365 Posts
When I worked on these hubs a ton 10 years ago this was a problem when they got a lot of miles on them. Usually it was that the grease would thicken up or get gunked up and you had to pull the things apart and get ALL the grease out and lube everything with Phil's Tenacious.