Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it possible that the gold powerlink on a nine speed sram chain becomes weakened after opening the chain? It seems to do that for me after cleaning the chain or something. I think im pretty careful when reconnecting it to snap it into place. Almost ruined a 36 mile ride when 6 miles in my chain broke. I was lucky to find both halves of the powerlink. Any input would be appreciated.

-dM

·
Derailleurless
9,122 Posts
I'm inclined to suggest operator error. I've been using Power Links on a number of bikes for a few years and have yet to have one fail on me.

If you found the two links and neither was broken, they were most likely never mated correctly. There is really nothing to "wear" from repeatedly breaking and rejoining the Power Link that would cause it not to fasten or to suddenly break loose. Good old chain tension is what holds it in position.

·
outdoor miner
5,516 Posts
any explanation?

laxguy86 said:
Is it possible that the gold powerlink on a nine speed sram chain becomes weakened after opening the chain? It seems to do that for me after cleaning the chain or something. I think im pretty careful when reconnecting it to snap it into place. Almost ruined a 36 mile ride when 6 miles in my chain broke. I was lucky to find both halves of the powerlink. Any input would be appreciated.

-dM
I don't know, but on one ride I was carrying the bike through some rocks (I know, wimpish) and the link fell apart. I couldn't find the half that had dropped off, and had no spare on me (I do now...) so joined the chain with a breaker and rode on.

I wasn't aware that this happened, does anyone know why?

Lack of chain tension I guess. Maybe the chain brushed the rocks and was somehow pushed into a curve that allowed the link to release???

I wrote it off to being a freak occurrence, but a little unnnerving nonetheless.

·
Derailleurless
9,122 Posts
laxguy86 said: