Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I about to switch over and try some xo sram stuff but i wasnt sure what kinda xo derailer to get! I ride mostly XC and i want a derailer that needs the least about of ajusting!please help me out.Also what disc brakes do you guys recomend,I just bought a 06 blur xc and i am building from scratch. I'm a newbie to this board!!!
thanks,brettxxx

·
Registered
6,855 Posts
fedup2 said:
I about to switch over and try some xo sram stuff but i wasnt sure what kinda xo derailer to get! I ride mostly XC and i want a derailer that needs the least about of ajusting!please help me out.Also what disc brakes do you guys recomend,I just bought a 06 blur xc and i am building from scratch. I'm a newbie to this board!!!
thanks,brettxxx
Derailler length is based on the range of gears you have. If you run 3 front rings, and have say 11-34 rear, go with the long cage der.

Brakes - almost all newer mid-high end hydro brakes are very good, with small differences that are often personal preference. Some are lighter than others, so better suited to XC.

Avid Juicy 5 or 7
Formula K24 etc
Magura - not sure the current best model
Shimano - LX, XT, XTR - only issue is splined rotors, they will work with 6-bolt rotors though.
Hope mini mono

If it was me, I'd base the decision on which decent, lightish brakes you can get a deal on, that you can get servicing and parts for locally (unless you DYI servicing and don't mind mail-ordering parts).

·
rack admirer
665 Posts
Short Cage. Period.

Get the short cage. Leave all discussions about chain wrap capacity for later.
SRAM deraillers are all about snagging things on the trail. Smaller cage means better clearance. Picture a dog with big balls bounding throught he brush after a tennis ball.

Ouch.