Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been racing for a few years with good results, I'm active in the cycling community, IMBA member, trail builder, etc. I applied for some individual sponsorships for next year and the small team I race with also applied for some team sponsorships. We're a new team but we applied with people that make products we already use and believe in. We/I are not asking for much but what can we expect? We have a website we can link to the sponsor, we'll be getting jerseys printed but what else can we offer the sponsor besides just being a good representative?

What sort grassroots programs exist? I know the topic of percentage discounts or prices is taboo when talking about a particular company but can those with experience shed some light? General terms and % are fine. What kind of "contracts" are involved with grassroots deals? I know Michelin has a good program and they're very open with the details but what are some of the other things companies are doing? Do they offer packages, across the board discounts, etc?

Also related, anyone know what the typical deals are like through sponsorhouse.com? Any companies in particular do anything really cool or innovative? I see mongoosetribe.com has a pretty cool setup by Eric Carter for the gravity riders among us. Related to all of that, what are some ideas that we could offer companies to really step it up without costing them an arm and a leg. Free stuff is great but I think most people realize that is just not happening.

Any help/info is appreciated? Just trying to lay out the plans for next year. I did a search but it seems most people ask about how to apply and I've already got that covered.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,066 Posts