Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really really don't want a road bike, but I want more saddle time. I am down to riding once or twice a week and I want more. I have looked at a trainer setup, but don't want to carry my bike down stairs and put a slick on it. Any thoughts on a spin bike like the gyms have?

·
Registered
61 Posts
Hi Dude,

I'm by no means an expert in bike geometry, but am a spin instructor and a road and mtb cyclist. What I can tell you is what I "feel" rather than a comparison by numbers. In comparing my road bike in a trainer vs. a spin bike, there's a definite difference in the "reality factor", so to speak. If you are looking to maintain aerobic conditioning in a cycling specific workout, a spin bike is fine, but if you're looking to improve your riding, I think the trainer is better. It is more realistic and transferrable to real riding to use a bike and manipulate the tension and gears on a trainer, than to just adjust the tension on the flywheel of a spin bike. I know that spin bikes are set up to more or less mimic a road bike, but neverthelss I always feel like I've gotten a better quality training session on the trainer than the spinner. Again, this is personal opinion based on my experience - I'd be interested to hear others' views especially as a spin instructor. Also - not sure from your post, have you ever used a spin bike? If not, try taking a spin class or ask your gym if you can try a bike out to see what you think. Just beware though - not every spin class is created equal and some are more like an aerobics class than a bike ride...

Also, given the cost of spin bikes, you might be better off buying a trainer and a 'mildly used road bike' than a spin bike.

Cheers,
HH

·
Registered
88 Posts
I agree