Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been running chris king hubs for about 6 months, and i can't help but wonder if i could make them faster. The ring drive will increase rolling resistance and all, but there has to be a way to make them roll faster. Is there any ceramic bearings i could run. Does any specific type of lube help um. I work at a bike shop, so i can understand all the techy stuff. Thanks.

·
flow where ever you go
1,528 Posts
My King rear feels as fast or faster than any hub I've had. I only notice added drag when spinning the wheel by hand on the stand (it does not spin as long as some). But on the trails, it feels turbo-charged... quit pedaling and just rip. It picks up speed rapidly... going downhill of course!

One thing to check... make sure it's not over-tightened or over greased or with overly heavy grease.

·
Too busy looking good
361 Posts
You may not race, but still this advice applies to everyone - you don't win races coasting. Freehub drag is only an issue when you're not pedalling, and if you're coasting a lot then, by definition, speed isn't a priority for you. So your concern with freewheel drag might be mostly psychological - just pedal more!

But more seriously, you mention freewheel drag, and then mention the idea of ceramic bearings. Bearing drag and freewheel drag are completely separate - quality ceramic bearings, properly installed, will certainly reduce drag a bit, and will reduce it whether you're pedalling or not, and is therefore a good upgrade (although it ranks low on the scale of cost vs. return). Freewheel drag won't be effected by bearings.

·
Banned
4,137 Posts
If you put two identical bikes on two identical stands with two identical wheels and tires ands spokes.... everything is identical... except the hubs. A computerized machine spins both wheels up to 30mph... identical speeds.