Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This time with feeling! I had previously posted this in the Stumpjumper EVO HT thread. Only to be politely told... wrong thread... So here it is, back by popular demand, my first post in mtbr.

Long time listener first time caller here. Purchased my 2014 Stumpy AL HT about a week ago. Had them swap out the Formula brakes for SLX, converted to tubeless, and added the shimano m520's. I just got back from my first ride and I gotta say. Thank you research and this site. I love this bike! Climbs, descends, and all around rides like a dream. For years I rockhopped it on a bike that was way too small, my background is BMX ~ late 70's early 80's ~ and road racing ~ early 80's ~. Nice to be back on a bike that fits. I'll post some pics in the future. Thanks again to this forum. I dig all the opinions. Remind me not to mention clipless vs platform or FS vs HT, or Carbon vs Aluminum. Big Bang forbid I should make a mistake on a post! (your, you're)

Basque.jpg

This pic is from one of my last rides. It doesn't come close to capturing the thousands of sheep that were on the trail that day. Here in Boise we're home to more Basque folks that anywhere outside of Europe. What does this have to do with sheep? Well that I'll let you look up. But if your (ha!) correction you're ever in Boise come visit the Basque block. Have some wine, some food, some fun.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Congrats. How much did the brake swap set you back? I'm leaning towards doing the same thing on a 14 SJ FSR.
$180 for the swap. I bought the bike during the spring sale, $185 off MSRP so I made money by swapping the brakes. At least that is what I tell myself.

·
Registered
431 Posts
Yes I got kicked off that thread with my 2 aluminum 29er Stumpjupers too! Best bike and what more do you need. Simplicity rules.

·
little mad riding hood
407 Posts