Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a Fisher GS Tassahara Large for a few years and will be purchasing a full suspension bike soon. I Test rode a medium womens FSR Stump Jumper and am very impressed with the ride. Had to replace the stock 90 mm stem with a 110 mm riser stem to get the proper reach for the test ride. It fit ok but any more seat post extension and the bike will feel a little unstable. I am 5' 71/2" tall and have a 31" inseam. I wonder if the large will be a better fit. Can't find a large to test ride. Any Stump Jumper fit advise would be appreciated.

·
ballbuster
12,718 Posts
Could be...

catflopsy said:
I have been riding a Fisher GS Tassahara Large for a few years and will be purchasing a full suspension bike soon. I Test rode a medium womens FSR Stump Jumper and am very impressed with the ride. Had to replace the stock 90 mm stem with a 110 mm riser stem to get the proper reach for the test ride. It fit ok but any more seat post extension and the bike will feel a little unstable. I am 5' 71/2" tall and have a 31" inseam. I wonder if the large will be a better fit. Can't find a large to test ride. Any Stump Jumper fit advise would be appreciated.
... but you are taller than the average American woman. If you have a 31" inseam, I would also guess you have longer arms than average, as the longer stem would indicate. You may wanna try a medium non-WSD frame. Prolly a lot easier to find in stock somewhere. The WSD designs tend to lean towards folks with more torso and shorter reach, which it sounds like you don't have.

·
Registered
3,882 Posts
Pimpbot is on it.

I fit bicycles for a living, Specialized being one of the brands.

At yor height and reach, try a couple of standard geo. frames. THe WSD designs tend to be geared to shorter (height and reach)riders than you.