Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding SPD pedals for about 12 years now. I thought I'd give egg beaters a try so I picked up some Crank Bros Acids. Put them on the bike, changed out my cleats and simply cannot get used to them. I set them up for the easiest step out angle, but they just aren't like my Shimano 535's. I finally pulled them and went back to the SPD pedals. I also didn't like the way they step in. It feels as though I have to apply more pressure to get into the pedal. I've just been riding around the neighborhood and have had enough pedal related "incidents" that I've not taken them out to the trail. I wanted to go with a little more of a platform type step in, hence the purchase of the Acid's.

Will the beaters "break-in" to be a little more friendly? Is anyone else experiencing this?

Thanks, Steve

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
i did the same thing a while back. i wanted more float and some more platform. once i got used to the brothers i never wanted to go back, then i went to spd by accident when my spindle on the old pedals froze to the crank. will never go back. more stable, less float, feels better IMO. and the crank brothers always smacked on rocks and broke the clip in mech. if you like spd, stick with them

·
Registered
17 Posts
Same here

I used SPDs for a few years and then wanted more float so I tried the Candy C pedal. Used them for less then 100 miles and never felt comfortable clipping out. Went back to SPDs a few weeks ago and will never switch again.

·
Registered
101 Posts
I went from SPDs to Speedplay Frogs and now I use Eggbeaters. I like the Eggbeaters best. They do take a little more pressure to step in, but not much and I feel like they're more secure. They don't float much, which I prefer over the frogs. The 4-sided entrance makes clipping in easy, too. I also seem to wear the cleats down slower than with SPDs.