Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
b a n n e d
6,213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm somewhat new to the SPD world . . . I have a pair of XT pedals. What sort of maintenance do I need to do on them, short of rebuilding them. i.e., do they need to be lubed, etc.? If so, where?

·
bust a move
1,978 Posts
If they act right I don't touch. If not, clean & light lube, wipe clean

·
SSOD
826 Posts
yeah, keep them dry after wet rides. Use a light lube like progold on the springs every now and then. Mine have lasted almost 4 years so far just doing these things.

·
b a n n e d
6,213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I ride in the dry dry dry . . . dust is a problem, not wet so thats good. I do wipe them down pretty regularly and will add some lube to the springs.

Thanks.

·
Registered
12,083 Posts
Check for bearing play....if there is none your done....

If there is play tear it down and redo the bearings (like a cup and cone wheel bearing)...

If you get the seal set right they will last a very long time...

My XTR's are on four years now...winter and summer since the last tear down (didn't get the seal right)...

I just rinse them off when I wash the bike.

·
b a n n e d
6,213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks . . . . the reason I ask is that there's an odd clicking and squeak coming from the drive side near the BB/front chain rings when the crank passes the 4-5:00 position. I'm trying to eliminate possibilities and figured I'd start with the real simple stuff first.

·
bust a move
1,978 Posts
I'm sure you probably have checked but make sure they are properly tight to the cranks before you take anything apart.

·
The Smiths Design
32 Posts
I have a pair of XTs that are tightened down all the way (and my cleats) but still seem kind of loose. (not enough that my foot will come out if I'm standing up on the bike, but they unclip pretty easily and my feet can still move a little) They are new this year, is this normal?

·
b a n n e d
6,213 Posts