Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
832 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I have been thinking of trying http://www.bmeres.com/carbonframe1.htm, but I was curious where I can source the metal for the bottom bracket shell, seat tube, cable stops, head tube, etc.

Looks like most people here are building frames out of some type of metal.

I have built a Fiberglass/Kevlar solo whitewater canoe before so I have some experience with the process.

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
sounds like it took weeks to make,how much does it weigh?it doesn't sound like a 3-4 lb frame,carbon is around 40 dollars a yard,the mgs resin is 154 dollars a gallon with hardener,constructing(buying materials) a perfectly straight jig and shaping all that foam,and the machining or buying of bb and all the other aluminum bits just to make what appears to look just like a fleabay cheapy cf frame with canti's.Wow! I've heard that most frames use monofilement cf on the inside and the bi directional stuff on the outside just for the look,this guys got the weave all the way through,which may or may not be an advantage. I wonder how much the foam weighs, i know giant pressurizes with air from the inside, the bladders stuck to the inside barely weigh anything. Truely incredible on different levels,if i had that kind of motivation to make my own bike frame i would 've at least copied a giant reign x in carbon or made a disk braked crossbike version of an advance isp frame.

·
Registered
725 Posts
herbn said:
just to make what appears to look just like a fleabay cheapy cf frame with canti's.Wow!
Herb, Realize that frame was made 7 years ago which is quite a time in carbon land.

That gentleman has made lots of other really cool stuff even a helmet for his dog:)