Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I am still quite new to mountain biking. I've recently bought an xc bike (Canyon Lux Trail CF 8) and I had a few hundred kms on Epic Evo before that.
Although I like the Canyon more (AXS components and somehow it fits me a bit better) one gripe I have with it are Level TLM brakes.
They are just seem weaker and more spongy to me than what Epic Evo had (G2). Additionally G2s had bite point adjustment and Level ones don't.
With this in mind I have a several questions about how brakes are supposed to work:

1)Should I be able to completely lock the front wheel with one finger with not that much force? By completely locking I mean that I shouldn't be able to rotate it at all while standing next to the bike and pushing it hard on the ground or that I should be able to go over the bars (or do an endo) if I break hard from around 10-15km/h. It seems to me right now I can only lock it if I strongly grab it with two fingers and still it's not instant lock. I mean my impression is that my Shimano Ultegra road brakes lock the front wheel more reliably on my gravel bike.

2)Is there any reason what so over to use Level brakes over G2 breaks (assuming cost is not an issue)? G2s are not heavier if I am reading the docs right and they just seem better in all aspects

3)Is there any reason to use 160 rotors? Somehow xc bikes come with 180 rotor in front and 160 in the back. Is there any reasons not to just run 180s on both wheels?

4)What do competitive xc racers use? I mean, is there any kind of competitive advantage to Level brakes or are thy geared towards beginners who are afraid of breaking too hard and going over the bars?

I can ride with those Level brakes just fine on my local mild trails but I am a bit afraid to go try steeper descents and when trying to have some fun those brakes are limiting.