Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I have been riding SS for 2 years now (SS only for 1.5 years). Here are my gripes. I tend to push myself, so I push my bikes too. We have short steep climbs where you have to give a final mega push and lots of roots. Parts do not last - I have bent 2 spot spiderless, 1 blackspire and numerous king cogs, 2 left 747 pedals and 1 959 pair, chainring bolts. Everything starts to creak 2 rides after regrease, especially stem/bar and crank/bb. So, I have to maintain my SS more than my geary! I have never broken anything on my geary! Still I like to work on my bikes and I love SS.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
poff said:
Ok, I have been riding SS for 2 years now (SS only for 1.5 years). Here are my gripes. I tend to push myself, so I push my bikes too. We have short steep climbs where you have to give a final mega push and lots of roots. Parts do not last - I have bent 2 spot spiderless, 1 blackspire and numerous king cogs, 2 left 747 pedals and 1 959 pair, chainring bolts. Everything starts to creak 2 rides after regrease, especially stem/bar and crank/bb. So, I have to maintain my SS more than my geary! I have never broken anything on my geary! Still I like to work on my bikes and I love SS.
My Unit hasn't had those problems. A few broken chains (mega pushes) and sliding drops that needed new bolts (more mega pushes). On the other hand I've seen gearies with tons of problems - of course broken deraileurs.

·
Fo' Bidniz in da haus
17,282 Posts