Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Bike to the Bone...
Joined
·
8,290 Posts
endurowanker said:
i kinda wanted a coil :skep:

looks like the RP3 only from their site. :confused:
Maybe you can ask your dealer, maybe he can order one for it. I think I heard that you can do that.

My own personal opinion is that Titus wants to simplify their product offerings, so they're not promoting too much coil shoxs, but I think you can ask for it.
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
endurowanker said:
i kinda wanted a coil :skep:

looks like the RP3 only from their site. :confused:
Someone posted that he got a ML with a coil over direct from the dealer... but that you have to order it that way. Also he posted the price difference between the coil and air shock (under a Benjamin I seem to recall).

It's on the thread about ML with coil shock.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
897 Posts
Mine runs fine

Here is the only thing I can think of - Fox made the DHX in the right size for the Motolite last year (maybe 05). This year they are not offering that size. What other bikes run a 7.8x2.0? So maybe people are saying and Titus doesn't want to promote it anymore because there are only a few left or they are completely gone. Guys, talk to bikerbob. He hooked me up and he can probably hook you up.

Chris
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,470 Posts
Chris9702l said:
Here is the only thing I can think of - Fox made the DHX in the right size for the Motolite last year (maybe 05). This year they are not offering that size. What other bikes run a 7.8x2.0?
Chris
Santa Cruz Heckler
Kona Coiler Coiler, Dawg, Bear.. and stinky(?)

Those are just the ones I know of.... it's a very common size... I would be surprised if Fox decided not to offer it...
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
FM said:
Santa Cruz Heckler
Kona Coiler Coiler, Dawg, Bear.. and stinky(?)

Those are just the ones I know of.... it's a very common size... I would be surprised if Fox decided not to offer it...
Add some Ellsworths, Cannondale Prophets and BMC's to that list... there should be much more. It's a fairly common size.

Thing is, most of those bikes are not heavy duty and are using either RP3's (now RP23's) or DHX A's... really, coil overs under the 8" lenght and 2.25" strokes are each day more and more uncommon, thanks to development of air shocks.

If I wanted to put a coil-over on my bike and it's not an option from factory, I'd sell off the RP3 and finance a Roco, a DHX or even a Pushed Vanilla.

5th coils were a good option, but they were just pulled off the market by Progressive. Swingers coils have the reputation of being like a 5th coil, they don't break as their forks; but you need different hardware which plain sucks.
 

·
Bike to the Bone...
Joined
·
8,290 Posts
Chris9702l said:
Here is the only thing I can think of - Fox made the DHX in the right size for the Motolite last year (maybe 05). This year they are not offering that size. What other bikes run a 7.8x2.0? So maybe people are saying and Titus doesn't want to promote it anymore because there are only a few left or they are completely gone. Guys, talk to bikerbob. He hooked me up and he can probably hook you up.

Chris
I ordered mine through Bikerbob. He ordered it to Fox and should send it soon. :) Can't wait to try it :thumbsup:
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
rzozaya1969 said:
I ordered mine through Bikerbob.:thumbsup:
Spanish spoken there... :thumbsup:

You'll love it. Coils are sweeter than air shocks. But you have to pedal somehow smoother to avoid bobbing as they're more sensitive. Plush and firm pedalling are two terms don't work out well together... but today's shocks are pretty good, you'll love the thing.
 

·
Bike to the Bone...
Joined
·
8,290 Posts
Warp said:
Spanish spoken there... :thumbsup:

You'll love it. Coils are sweeter than air shocks. But you have to pedal somehow smoother to avoid bobbing as they're more sensitive. Plush and firm pedalling are two terms don't work out well together... but today's shocks are pretty good, you'll love the thing.
Actually, I'm considering sending it to Push. Since I'm not racing, I don't mind a little bob..

But my wallet is still hurting. Anyway, my other frame has arrived at my friends house in Dallas, he's sending it to me. I will probably have it in 2 weeks.... it's been a loooong time to have my hardtail..

Anyway, I also want to change my PC. Not sure yet, probably I will wait for Windows Vista, since it looks nice. But it will cost some $$ :(

I think the Push treatment will have to wait, though..
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
rzozaya1969 said:
Actually, I'm considering sending it to Push. Since I'm not racing, I don't mind a little bob..

But my wallet is still hurting. Anyway, my other frame has arrived at my friends house in Dallas, he's sending it to me. I will probably have it in 2 weeks.... it's been a loooong time to have my hardtail..

Anyway, I also want to change my PC. Not sure yet, probably I will wait for Windows Vista, since it looks nice. But it will cost some $$ :(

I think the Push treatment will have to wait, though..
A friend of mine here is a PC junkie and so far his opinion on the Vista is that it's a resource hog (why it doesn't surprises me from Microsoft?).

I'm set to wait until the generalization of 64-bit systems... those are supposed to be faster, despite the OS needing more resources.

If you have PC UGI, your best bet is to take RAM up to eleven (to the very limit of your motherboard), put in a faster HD - 10,000RPM's for desktop systems and upgrade your video board.

This buddy I was talking about, found dramatic performance gains from upping the RAM and going for a faster HD on his laptop. Heavy applications like Primavera or games like Halo 2, ran much better after that.
 

·
Bike to the Bone...
Joined
·
8,290 Posts
Warp said:
A friend of mine here is a PC junkie and so far his opinion on the Vista is that it's a resource hog (why it doesn't surprises me from Microsoft?).

I'm set to wait until the generalization of 64-bit systems... those are supposed to be faster, despite the OS needing more resources.

If you have PC UGI, your best bet is to take RAM up to eleven (to the very limit of your motherboard), put in a faster HD - 10,000RPM's for desktop systems and upgrade your video board.

This buddy I was talking about, found dramatic performance gains from upping the RAM and going for a faster HD on his laptop. Heavy applications like Primavera or games like Halo 2, ran much better after that.
Whenever Microsoft releases a new memory, you know that Kingston and some other companies starts to grin :)

I'm thinking on a Laptop, and I want 1 Gb RAM. I don't use it for games (I prefer my XBOX for that :) ). Dell has some sweet options, but I prefer until it has Vista rather than XP.
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
rzozaya1969 said:
Whenever Microsoft releases a new memory, you know that Kingston and some other companies starts to grin :)

I'm thinking on a Laptop, and I want 1 Gb RAM. I don't use it for games (I prefer my XBOX for that :) ). Dell has some sweet options, but I prefer until it has Vista rather than XP.
I'd rather sway you to any other brand... I've seen too many Dells not working from day one. I'm running one at work, but I'm praying ofr it not to break.

Seriously... Toshiba and HP may be a bit pricier. Actually HP and Sony are coming out with sweet laptops nowadays. But so far my Tosh hasn't let me down despite field work and such. Three years now.

I can't say that from the Dell's I've seen and used.

That said, Dell's CS seems to be better than HP's. Never had to dealt with Toshiba's CS... mine has simply run troublefree for three years now (well, I had to format the HD once, but that was pure operator's error).
 

·
Bike to the Bone...
Joined
·
8,290 Posts
Warp said:
I'd rather sway you to any other brand... I've seen too many Dells not working from day one. I'm running one at work, but I'm praying ofr it not to break.

Seriously... Toshiba and HP may be a bit pricier. Actually HP and Sony are coming out with sweet laptops nowadays. But so far my Tosh hasn't let me down despite field work and such. Three years now.

I can't say that from the Dell's I've seen and used.

That said, Dell's CS seems to be better than HP's. Never had to dealt with Toshiba's CS... mine has simply run troublefree for three years now (well, I had to format the HD once, but that was pure operator's error).
My experience is the other way around. I've had lots of Dell that are excelent performers, and in my company we have a lot of them without problems. I find that Dell offers more value because you can order them as you wish and still come lower priced.

In laptops, Toshiba is a great option too. I don't trust Sony too much, though...
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
rzozaya1969 said:
My experience is the other way around. I've had lots of Dell that are excelent performers, and in my company we have a lot of them without problems. I find that Dell offers more value because you can order them as you wish and still come lower priced.

In laptops, Toshiba is a great option too. I don't trust Sony too much, though...
We use lots of Dells too... That's why I was mentioning it. The life expectancies of an older Compaq, compared to the newer Dells are night and day. Compaqs are still going strong and most Dells have had to be replaced (by newer Dells).

HP's have resulted to be more reliable. My boss had tons of problems with his Latitude... they had to change the motherboard.

Yeah.. Toshibas are great. I can only speak for mine, and besides being like the Giant Warp of PC's, it's up and strong after three years.

Sony used to suck big time... however, newer versions with dedicated video memory seem to be good performance and value wise. I dunno about reliability, though. Those are other computers I've seen to fail a lot.

As long as you're covered by warranty, any brand will do. Most PC's will show its shortcomings the first year... if they survive it, then they'll last long.
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
rzozaya1969 said:
Talk about a thread hijack!

Let's talk about sunday and impugnation and dressing in yellow!
So, which one did you order? the 5.0? What spring?

Doesn't selling the RP3 would pay for the Push treatment?
I'm positive you can get around what the Push treatment costs for your RP3. An added benefit is that if the coil-over fails (unlikely), is that you can go back home no problems.
 

·
Bike to the Bone...
Joined
·
8,290 Posts
Warp said:
So, which one did you order? the 5.0? What spring?

Doesn't selling the RP3 would pay for the Push treatment?
I'm positive you can get around what the Push treatment costs for your RP3. An added benefit is that if the coil-over fails (unlikely), is that you can go back home no problems.
It comes with a 450lbs. I talked with Titus and they recomended for my weight a 600-650, and fox 700-750. I ordered both. They're 22 bucks or so, and it's easier tossing the one that doens't fit than searching for the right one later.
 

·
"El Whatever"
Joined
·
18,889 Posts
rzozaya1969 said:
It comes with a 450lbs. I talked with Titus and they recomended for my weight a 600-650, and fox 700-750. I ordered both. They're 22 bucks or so, and it's easier tossing the one that doens't fit than searching for the right one later.
I wish I could take your "old" RP3, but I'll be spent with my wheels.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top