Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
bike junkie
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading some of the posts about good and bad experiences with the LBS. Figuring that the posters here are experienced and have an opinion as well as many posters being shop wrenches: If you were a shop owner what would be the single best thing you would do to stand above the rest?

Day in, day out how would you be better than the others and make people want you, and only you, to take care of their biking needs?

Good riding. :)

·
REALLY?
2,098 Posts
Not sure, I'm just an ex shop mechanic, I work on bikes and do what I'm told, but I've been biking 33+ years and in the time I've only met one guy I trust 100% with my bikes, and this guy is the most professional, courteous, patient, and most knowledgeable guy I ever met when it comes to bikes, the guy seriously knows it all and I think a few LBS's could take a few lessons from this guy.

Ashton Johnson (Sundance Cycles - Agoura Hills, Ca)

Unfortunaly for me he moved his shop 30 miles away - I usually do my own repairs (as I probably should anyway) so I dont let to many shops/guys touch my bikes anymore.

Open Air Cycles (Ventura Ca) honorable mention

Bicycles of Ojai (you suck)

·
Bike Dork
1,365 Posts
c-record said:
Day in, day out how would you be better than the others and make people want you, and only you, to take care of their biking needs?
The key is service, service, service, and knowledge. Hopefully I'll be opening a small repair shop come spring that mostly services mountain bikes because the closest other place is an hour away. So we'll see if my formula works soon enough.

·
bike junkie
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Knowledge?

themanmonkey said:
The key is service, service, service, and knowledge. Hopefully I'll be opening a small repair shop come spring that mostly services mountain bikes because the closest other place is an hour away. So we'll see if my formula works soon enough.