Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
trail addict
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started clipping in a few years ago and got addicted to the control, ability to unweight the bike, and never worrying about my feet slipping off.

By the time I started riding parks and shuttle runs, there was no way I would go back, so I basically haven't ridden flats for years (other than in my driveway on my friend's bike).

I am thinking about giving flats a try again after all the good things I've heard about 5.10s. It is not that I don't like clipping-in (even though a lot of people think I am crazy), I just have to if the grass may be greener on the other side.

The thing is, I don't want to spend $100 on 5.10s unless I am sure I will like it. I can borrow some pretty grippy pedals, but I have no way to test 5.10s. Closest thing would be my Converse or cross-trainer sneakers-how close are they? Anything else I might try?

Anyone else very comfortable with clickies for DH or FR and switch back to flats and find an improvement?

Funny thing is: when I first went to clipless I felt like I would never be able to get air again.... now I can't even imagine jumping a bike without them.

·
Registered
543 Posts
I used skate shoes to ride for the longest time until I bought 5 10s in october. The difference is incredible. Very very sticky. I'm not sure how they compare to being clipped in but I have fallen a few times at a standstill because I couldnt get my foot off lol. If you can find them on sale, I would say go for it.

·
"The Freak Show"
112 Posts