Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding on and off for about 5 years so I am not a beginner rider. I thought I was sold on getting a 29er. but after talking to a local bike shop they told me I should look at a full suspension instead of a 29er. I am 5"2 and a small girl. I have a price range of $1200-1400. Any suggestions on bikes? I was looking at the niner EMD frame but that is not in my budget. I have also looked at specialized rockhopper 29er. The full susp. i checked out was the X-Caliber WSD trek.

any thoughts or advice would be great!!

Also, what do you think is the most important component you would upgrade first? most of the bikes in my price range have pretty low end components

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
awesome. does anybody know about the weight comparison between a full susp and 29er? where i live it is very rooty which is why the guy said i should go for a full susp.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Can you explain more as to why your gf got the stumpjumper.. as in "build value" i think the smallest frame size was 15.5 inches and they didn't have any in store but i was scared it might be a little big

·
Registered
562 Posts
LilLiz said:
Can you explain more as to why your gf got the stumpjumper.. as in "build value" i think the smallest frame size was 15.5 inches and they didn't have any in store but i was scared it might be a little big
I took her to several shops and she test rode eveything she could. The EMD and the Stumpie had the best toptube clearance. To build up an EMD with the same spec's as the Stumpie was going to cost $500 more (or so).

This year Specialized had a female specific Stumpjumper. You should def check the out.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·