Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Planning on it...first 100mi off road race.

I shouldn't suck as badly as I did last time I did an endurance race (PMBAR) as I've essentially doubled my road hours from 8 to 15/wk since right now my training focus isn't criteriums and shorter road races. This won't change until around February, so I should be able to man up for the long haul :)

RSW: Do I know you? I'm about 98% sure I know the Jimmy you're talking about. I ride with C4 on the road and do some scattered MTB and CX racing.

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Snuffleupagus said:
RSW: Do I know you? I'm about 98% sure I know the Jimmy you're talking about. I ride with C4 on the road and do some scattered MTB and CX racing.
Jimmy rides w/ C-4 once in a while I think.

He is a Singlespeed FREAK on a blue Ventana.

r

·
Registered
41 Posts
I'm in. First endurance race, but have to concentrate on the road miles right now for the Rocky Mtn Bike Tour the first week in Aug (500 road ride). Having never done one, my only real goal is to finish, but I would like to do it in 11 hours or less. I have about 2200 miles in the legs at this point (mostly fast, hilly club rides and lots of trips down to Skyline drive for hours of steady climbing). Only super long distance ride I've done was the C&O canal - all 187 of it in one day, which has no climbing, but it's a long day in the saddle.

I have some ergon grips and crossmax st's on order since my current wheels are garbage.

Any tips/advice? Appreciate it. Looking forward to my first endurance!

·
Registered
123 Posts
Tires? Much of the race is on mountain roads. There's a few long sections of pavement too. I would count on the course being pretty dry. Last year it was bone dry. The downhills are screaming fast and can get kind of rough. Something that rolls fast with good volume would be appropriate. May want to stay away from the flyweight tires.