Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty sure I want to buy my first FS mountain bike, not in a hurry but over the next year. Pretty positive I want short travel for my trails in SE Wisconsin. The question to me now is the head angle. How do I know if a Tallboy 4 or Salsa Spearfish is better? For 'moderate' riders not taking huge jumps, is there a downside to these slack angles? Thx. I've been riding a couple of hardtails for a few years.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
The two main downsides to a slack headtube are climbing and imprecise steering at low speed. A slack headtube puts the front wheel more forward, which means further away from the weight of the rider (depending on seat tube angle and some other things). That means the front end can be light while climbing.

A slack geometry bike likes to be leaned to be steered. Anytime you actually have to use your handlebars to steer, as in tight and twisties, it's going to be a bit of an adventure that will take some getting used to, assuming you are coming from XC geo. To me, once the bars are turned a bit from straight, they have a bit of a tendency to "flop" to an even greater deviation. Frankly, I still haven't quite gotten used to it.

It's not jumps that slack geometry particularly helps with. It's any time a less slack geometry would put too much weight forward, as in downhill or rough terrain where the front wheel might "stick" in something like a crevice in a rock garden. Also, a slack head tube tends to keep object strikes more "aligned" or parallel with the axis of the fork, rather transverse to it, so it's a bit better oriented to do its job.