Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

I just bought a used 05 Prophet. I'm having problems with it skipping gears when I put a lot of pressure on the pedals going up steep hills. When it happens it jumps up 2 to 3 gears (to smaller cogs). I'm trying to figure out if I need to replace the cassette and chain or the rear derailleur (XT RD-750). The reason that I think it might be the derailleur is that the chain (Dura Ace) is within spec. (Well within the .75 mark on the park chain tool). The cassette doesn't appear to be worn a lot but I'm no expert in telling that by sight. I have put a new shifter cable on and have adjusted it so that it shifts smoothly. I have also checked for stiff links and haven't found any. The rear derailleur seems to be quite loose when I move it side to side, but again I don't know what is acceptable. Any thoughts on how to better troubleshoot this would be appreciated.

thanks, rick

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
It sounds like a worn cassette to me. You ought to check the chain rings too.

Edit: Oops, I replied after skimming your post and initially missed the part about it jumping 2 to 3 gears. In that case, it may well be the derailleur. But check the cable housing too. Gummed up cable housing can lead to some strange shifting problems.

Question: Does it shift smoothly when not under pressure?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for responding. Yes, it shifts fine when not under pressure. The skipping only occur on the steepest of hills when I'm using all of my body weight to push down on the pedals to make it up an incline.

rick

·
Registered
3,061 Posts
voithofer said:
The skipping only occur on the steepest of hills when I'm using all of my body weight to push down on the pedals to make it up an incline.