Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
608 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haven't mtn biked in years (roadie convert) but I bought a mountain bike this year with the intention to ride non-technical singletrack. Haven't been able to ride on tails with all this snow, so I've been hitting the local indoor bike park (Joyride in Ontario). Been there four times, riding an xc loop, plus skinnies (logs and other narrow objects), and I fall at least once each time (lose momentum and balance, can't in lip and I tip over). I've been riding clipless for 10 yrs, but I'm remembering how you're more vulnerable on a mtn bike.

Anyway, was wondering (cause I can't recall) if the indoor bike park is more challenging to ones skills...and can I expect once I hit the (non technical) trails will it be easier. I remember steep climbs with rocks and roots are challenging, but my balance skills are really pushed at the indoor bike park...to the point where it takes the fun away.

·
Registered
9,520 Posts
First thing to do is ditch the clipless. Also, drop your seat all the way and try to forget you even have one on the bike. Get in the habit of riding standing up the whole time. It'll do tons for your bike handling.

I ride indoor parks a good bit in the winter with my son. Probably a matter of experience level for me, but I find even pretty damn technical trails to be a lot easier than park riding (FWIW, I'm riding park on a 20" and working on learning more BMX-y moves). I'd be pretty comfortable stating that riding non-technical trails is far easier than park riding. If you can get around the typical park with any sort of success, you're not going to have any problems on easy trails. Challenges are different of course, but overall skill-level-wise, I think park requires quite a bit more in the way of bike handling.

·
Registered
608 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·