Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wanted to get some baseline thoughts on progression through skill as a mountain biker and what's more important. I realize it probably isn't this simple of a question, I'm thinking more along the lines of chunky trails and dealing with technical spots.

Going downhill through chunk is pretty fun and straight forward to me. I have a rad bike that probably does most of the work for me and I'm still learning and have a long way to go in general regarding skill.

But on the slow climbs through technical areas it's pretty wild to feel the ebb and flow of how when I'm doing a main run by my house I struggle at different points through the climb each time I ride, it isn't always the same obstacles. So what's more or a priority going through the tech on gradual climbs, having the conditioning to just power through some of the chunk, or having the skill to maneuver it? I realize you likely need both and they compliment each other but is there one that's more important as I'm progressing through these areas? I wonder if I should do more conditioning based riding or just continue through my route to get better at it?

· Registered
19 Posts
Skill beats conditioning, until it doesn't.

Look at it this way. Two athletes of the exact same condition, the one with better skill is faster in all parts of riding. Take it one step further. For the most part, a skilled rider can be faster than riders of better fitness. Look at a road racer who shows up for an XC race and gets blown out. Personal experience, I'm by no means a super skilled rider, but I've been mountain biking since the late 80s and consistently for the last 15 years. I can get on the bike and blow more fit riders away. I corner better, break less and generally can ride expending less energy. Skill is critical.