Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking about getting one of these two.I ride a zion 737 now and like the ride,but it's time for an upgrade.Is the weight between the two noticable?hows the ride feel on both?This is my first time posting so please help me out.Thanks,Corey

·
Reviewer/Tester
6,176 Posts
Welcome to the forum..

I can only speak for the SIR 9.

For a non-custom made frame, it is very good indeed. The Reynolds tubing has a beautiful spring to it, but isn't noodly.

The AIR 9 is going to build up lighter, but like the One Niner [which I also have] the ride could be a little harsher because of the frame material. I tend to regard the alloy framed Niners as more suited to the weight conscious or racer types, and the steel SIR 9 as more of a cruiser...although both frames could easily serve either purpose.

Owners of the AIR 9 will no doubt chime in soon with their impressions and opinions.

I believe that Padre's wife rides an AIR 9 and also races on it.

HTH,

R.

·
Purveyor of Fine 29erness
626 Posts
Hi Corey.
Both frames have basically the same dimensions, but the ride quality is quite different.
The SIR is very compliant, without feeling mushy or dead.
The AIR is lightning quick and snappy, without being harsh.
The difference in frame weights between the two is about 2 lbs. I rode a large AIR for most of last summer, the frame was 3.4lbs, the SIR I'm riding now weights about 5.4lbs.
The EBB adds a little weight, but it gives you a lot of versatility. I'm riding my SIR rigid and singlespeed, and it is buttery, but if I ever wanted to put gears on it, it would be an easy change. I got rid of my AIR to ride the RIP.
If you knew you wanted a more comliant ride, but were not going to go singlespeed, you might think about the new MCR. Without the EBB, it will save you a bit of weight, and some $$.
Any way you slice it, the Niner guys make some seriously nice bikes.

·
Registered