Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got home from picking up my new/old bike! It's a Nishiki Cascade, the gentleman I bought it from said It's an 88', he said he bought it new while in college. Anyways, the reason I bought this bike was because I'm hoping the rear dropouts are going to allow me to convert it to SS! That's where you guys come in, will the dropout work? I knew horizontal drop outs were ideal, and these look like they are at about a 45degree angle. All in all I'd just like your guys opinions and any advice for the resto! I'm new to biking, this is actually gonna be my first mountain bike....I had a single speed bike growing up and I thought I'd just jump straight back into it. Tell me what you guys think! Thanks :]

Attachments

·
one chain loop
2,360 Posts
i like this thread already, interesting bike. that dropout have enough room for good chain tensioning..

and just so you know, your dog is eating your tire.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you! I'm really excited to get this thing started. And I'm glad you think that dropout should work, fingers crossed! And yeah, they guy gave me an extra tire, but It didnt even match the two on the bike....so I let my dog have at it lol.

·
Content from my avatar
4,355 Posts
Keep the tire. Consider it the first deposit into your big box o' bike bits. You can never have too many spare parts.

Besides, that rubber can't be good for the dog.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
serial number

Finally found the serial number! Now can anyone help me find a database that I can search this in? I just want to know the EXACT year of this bike, and any other info I can get on it. I cant seem to find much info on these bikes. Thanks folks! :thumbsup:

Attachments

·
Registered
390 Posts
MRRhoades...does it really matter to you when & how your nishiki was made?