Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I am new to mountain bikes, and want to transition over from riding road bikes, as I have lots of buddies in the scene, and would love to ride along with them! Is it worth converting this frame into a mountain bike or do you recommend getting a new one. My budget for a beginner bike is $1000 dollars. I know its not a lot of money, but I do not want to spend anything more than that for a beginner bike.

Would you say for me to upgrade this frame to a mountain bike, or to buy a new hardtail mountainbike.

·
Cycologist
10,338 Posts
Buy a new mountain bike and give me that frame.:D

Seriously, a road bike is not going to convert into a mountain bike. If you can fit fatter tires on it, you could make it a gravel bike. But the geometry and other things will not work for building a mountain bike.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Buy a new mountain bike and give me that frame.:D

Seriously, a road bike is not going to convert into a mountain bike. If you can fit fatter tires on it, you could make it a gravel bike. But the geometry and other things will not work for building a mountain bike.
Oh because this was originally a mountain bike made into a road bike from what the previous seller told me. Arent these the bianchi grizzly mountain bike frames? By the way its super light weight :p

·
Wanna ride bikes?
9,827 Posts
That Bianchi frame is sweet, and it has a purpose, but a rigid, 26", rim brake MTB with 1.9" tires isn't going to allow you to keep up with your friends or be as fun as a modern hardtail.

Hang on to that thing (or send it to Chaz), and get yourself a modern hardtail you can learn and grow on.

·
jcd's best friend
3,411 Posts