Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
First post on this forum. I have a bit of a problem here. I have a 2006 Norco Bigfoot that is in pretty rough shape unfortunately. I have not gone mountain biking in years and during that time my bike has stayed outside and has suffered a little bit.

Well now I'm looking to get back into it but don't know if this bike is even worth fixing. The only things that are still good on the bike are the frame, wheels and tires. I love the frame and how sturdy it is but fixing it would involve a new fork, handle bars, cassette, chain, maybe rear brake and other things possibly.

I'm new to fixing and building bikes so if I were to fix it, I would have no clue as to what parts I could used and what not. So what do you guys think?

·
Registered
3,649 Posts
What would be the budget for a new bike? Depending on how bad things are to replace those parts you could be looking at between 500$ and 1000$ to get the rideable. You could be over estimating what you need ,forks and wheels could be rebuilt. If the chain and cassette are rusty you might get away with just replacing the chain. Photos would help .

·
Registered
666 Posts
My thought would be that the bike is 8 yrs old, to me it does not seem to make a lot of sense to pump more than $600 into this rig......but what do I know....

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I brought it to my bike store and he told me that the fork is pretty much a lost cause but I don't know, maybe he was just trying to get me to spend some money. My budget is quite high actually. If I buy a bike, I want something that I won't regret buying in a couple years. Thing is that bikes changed so much since I was biking that I don't even know what I'm looking for anymore.

I basically want a freeride bike capable of doing a little bit of jumping and downhill while not being completely useless at everything else.