Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Freerider
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks!

I'm still wondering - is there a place for short riders like me (165cm tall, 63kg weight) in the DH/FR world? I'm talking about the ability to make some big jumps and gaps and fast downhill tracks like the 'big' guys do. I know it all depends on the riding experience and practicing, but I still feel underrated to myself, because I'm shorter than all those guys I see on MTB movies.

I heard that Josh Bender is a freerider which is a short person too, but I'm not sure if this is true.

Maybe you know some pro-riders that are short like me?

·
Registered
153 Posts
im no pro rider, but there's a place in the DH FR world for everyone, granting you work your ass off and are ready to ball up and not Pu$$y foot around. sure you'll have to use a bit more technique vs. strength and you'll probably have to ride a bit different, but everyone has their own style. you think heigth is a problem look at that XC racer that is legally blind

·
The Beaver
1,153 Posts
I am a really tall rider over 200cm. I have thought about this before and how hight effects a riders ability.

What I think you will notice is that shorter riders rely more on power and taller riders rely more on finesse. I am not saying that a short rider cannot be smooth and that a tall rider cannot be powerful, I am only saying what I have seen.

Watch those videos again and try to spot how the hight of a rider effects their style. Like hucker1960 said, there is a place for everyone. You just have to keep riding and find your style.

For example, Brian Lopes... pretty short pedals a lot VS. Cedric Gracia fairly tall pumps a lot...

Disclaimer: this is only my opinion.

·
Registered
1,765 Posts
at 5'4" i dont think im that hindered by height when it comes to riding ability. when it comes to jumps and gaps...i dont think your height has anything to do with it.