Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the market for a new pair of shoes for XC riding, racing, and endurance racing. I'm new to endurance, and have been gradually training up for it. Quickly realize I need a new pair.

I understand that size, fit, cleat placement are all factors in a great shoe experience. I'm working with a professional fitter, and cost is not an issue either. This is not what I'm after by posting this question.

What brands/models do riders/racers love for the big rides? I hear that the really stiff carbon can create problems at longer distances, and is meant for shorter 20 XC races. True?

So what shoe does everyone trust for the 50-100+ milers?

·
Registered
443 Posts
Carbon is the way to go in my opinion unless you do events that involve large amounts of hike a bike. Carbon shoes should flex less leading to less chance of getting a hot spot under the cleat. Personally a fan of Specialized shoes but the main thing is finding something that fits you well and breaking them in good before an event.

·
Registered
2,189 Posts
Hot spots sucked for me, until I got a pair of good carbon sole'd shoes. I also have been on Specialized shoes for about a decade, and they've served me well. Last pair I got was the Pro model.

·
Wahoo!
162 Posts
In the end, your feet will have to do the talking. Personally I also like Spesh shoes, but currently am running a pair of NW shoes. I really like them. The size is pretty accurate.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Part of endurance rides for me is hike a bike. I have had good luck with the specialized Rimes. Yes they are not the stiffest but they are comfortable and allow some off bike walking.

·
Registered
434 Posts
The Shimano XC90, a new level of MTB Shoes. Nothing I have come across is even near.

My recommendation is to go with a carbon sole, saves your feet.

·
Registered
7,474 Posts