Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to pick up some clipless pedals, but having a hard time finding some shoes and deciding on a pedal.

This will be my first experience going clipless, and I know from research here that the Shimano PD-M520 is a great beginner pedal. But I can find the crankbros Eggbeater C Pedal on sale for the same price ($49.99) so which should I get?

Also, can anyone recommend a decent beginner shoe? I don't want to spend a fortune ($50-$75) but can't find anything much less than $100+. Any recommendations that would work with either of the pedals above? Is the SH-MT21 shoe any good?

Thanks.

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I ended up picking up the MT21 shoe and M520 pedal, I have read numerous threads about the M520 being a great beginner pedal, and while I have read many threads about the egg beaters also being a good pedal, I am a beginner! Total cost from the local performance bikes was about $90 :)

Looking forward to getting home from work and trying them out.

·
How do I do that?
561 Posts
I picked up a set of M520's at Pricepoint and had them pricematch it to $34.74 which was the cheapest US price I could find online at another site. Although I saved $15 on the pedals, I wound up paying full retail for a pair of Lake MX165's in a wide ($120 + S&H!!) for my PITA wide feet:(

A lifetime of not being able to fit in or spending big bucks on the majority of the shoes I want:madman: . I'm so sick of NB's too!:mad:

Try looking up Shimano's SH56 multi release cleats if you can't get used to the SH51 that the 520's come with.

Good luck with your new clipless setup!;)

·
Registered
332 Posts
Tuff Gong said: