Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's a good shock pump (aside from a marzocchi pump) for a marzocchi Marathon SL? Would a fox pump work okay. High pressure pump vs. low pressure? I'm kinda new at air shocks so any advice on a pump to go with it would be helpful.

Thanks

·
Registered
104 Posts
Lbs

I recently bought a marathon as well and bought a high pressure pump with a gauge at the LBS. Just make sure you have the marzocchi adapter. I would guess the 200psi vs 300psi doesn't really make a difference as long as you watch the pressure on the gauge...

·
Registered
3,159 Posts
Ruinane said:
What's a good shock pump (aside from a marzocchi pump) for a marzocchi Marathon SL? Would a fox pump work okay. High pressure pump vs. low pressure? I'm kinda new at air shocks so any advice on a pump to go with it would be helpful.

Thanks
I guess what some people do is take their high pressure pump and replace the gauge with a low pressure gauge, voila you have a low pressure pump.

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
any shock w/ the lowest pressure guage for your uses will work fine. As ratt said, if all they have is high pressure (ie 300lbs), you can replace the guage for $10 to 100 or 200psi.
For accuracy, you want the lowest pressure that'll work for you.

if you look 'em, lots of the pumps are the same pump, just rebranded.

Ruinane said:

Thanks

·
Registered
2,453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
logbiter said:
any shock w/ the lowest pressure guage for your uses will work fine. As ratt said, if all they have is high pressure (ie 300lbs), you can replace the guage for $10 to 100 or 200psi.
For accuracy, you want the lowest pressure that'll work for you.

if you look 'em, lots of the pumps are the same pump, just rebranded.
Thanks for your help.