Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm a MTB beginner and have a question:

Is there any difference in mud shedding ability between the Shimano XTR PD-M970 and PD-M520 pedals?

I am currently using the PD-M520 pedals, and had tons of problems with clogged up mud in the pedals (and cleats) during wet rides, to the point that I was clipped in on only 1 pedal in significant durations of those rides. And that was after taking a long long time clipping into 1 pedal first. :rolleyes:

I'm considering a change of pedals, and was wondering if the new 2007 XTR PD-M970 pedals would perform better in this area than my current pedals. From what I see, the shape and design of the PD-M970 and PD-M520 pedals look almost exactly the same, so I'm not too sure if the XTR pedals would do any better for mud shedding.

I am also considering the Crank Brothers Eggbeaters SL, but the reviews here seem to indicate it's got its fair share of problems in other areas, like engagement.

Any advice and help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
7,269 Posts
theychosenone said:
Hi all, I'm a MTB beginner and have a question:

Is there any difference in mud shedding ability between the Shimano XTR PD-M970 and PD-M520 pedals?

I am currently using the PD-M520 pedals, and had tons of problems with clogged up mud in the pedals (and cleats) during wet rides, to the point that I was clipped in on only 1 pedal in significant durations of those rides. And that was after taking a long long time clipping into 1 pedal first. :rolleyes:

I'm considering a change of pedals, and was wondering if the new 2007 XTR PD-M970 pedals would perform better in this area than my current pedals. From what I see, the shape and design of the PD-M970 and PD-M520 pedals look almost exactly the same, so I'm not too sure if the XTR pedals would do any better for mud shedding.