Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. need some advice. I'm going to start off 2010 by building my first bike (one of many resolutions)

I've never built one before and I also plan on making it a 2x9 (I think)

i've always run XT or XTR 3x9's and the thought of a cleaner chain line is appealing.

XX is crazy expensive so I'm thinking of XX light:thumbsup:

I see that the XT crankset is sold as a touring option in Europe with a 26 inner and 36 middle. What I'm not sure of is if the spread between those two rings wouldn't make it suitable for mountain biking. I know this might sound dumb. FSA makes a compact 2x9 and obviously there's XX.

Why doesn't Shimano market this crank in the US? Seems perfect for a 2x9, so is there anything I should be aware of that would keep it from shifting as well, or hopefully better than my current M770 XT triple?

Thanks, I think the medium cage XT shadow RD an the XT front mech would be compatible with the M771

thanks, any help would be greatly appreciated before I start buying parts

·
Glorified Hybrid Owner
1,091 Posts
velez3000 said:
Hi all. need some advice. I'm going to start off 2010 by building my first bike (one of many resolutions)

I've never built one before and I also plan on making it a 2x9 (I think)

i've always run XT or XTR 3x9's and the thought of a cleaner chain line is appealing.

XX is crazy expensive so I'm thinking of XX light:thumbsup:

I see that the XT crankset is sold as a touring option in Europe with a 26 inner and 36 middle. What I'm not sure of is if the spread between those two rings wouldn't make it suitable for mountain biking. I know this might sound dumb. FSA makes a compact 2x9 and obviously there's XX.

Why doesn't Shimano market this crank in the US? Seems perfect for a 2x9, so is there anything I should be aware of that would keep it from shifting as well, or hopefully better than my current M770 XT triple?