Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
Shimano M520
-audible click in and out
-durable pedal and cleats
-work well in most conditions

Crank Bros Candy
-more knee friendly rotational and later float
-work in the worst conditions (snow and mud)

Both work good, if you don't ride in nasty conditions I would lean towards the Shimano for their very consistent mechanism and durability.

·
Registered
114 Posts
I can't comment on candies, as 520's are all I've ever known. I have completely beat the hell out of these 520's for six years now. They were my first set of clippless, and seemed quick and easy to get used to. Like I said, I have no experience with CB's. Some of my friends love eggbeaters. SPD 520's are cheap and tough. If I were to buy new pedals, I would buy 520's again, or XTR's just to save weight.

·
T.W.O.
8,168 Posts
Trail riding? Any SPD compatible should do. You'd want the sole to be on a stiffer side but at the same time grippy enough to walk comfortably. Once you get used to doing things on clipless you may need less grippy sole. Going straight to the best Shimano is not necessary a good thing as M-300 is a terrible shoes when not clipped in.

·
Registered
893 Posts
jacobin said:
Thanks everyone, I guess I'll try the 520's. Does anyone like a particular shoe?
Get ones with velcro straps. I got a pair of lace-ups when I went clipless, because I thought they looked more like "regular shoes". But who cares what your shoes look like, and it is a bit of a pain to have to lace them up every time you got out. It's important that the heels don't slip too much, but bike shoes are tight, so you have to unlace them a bit to even get your hoof in, then tighten them back up... then tuck in the laces so it doesn't get caught in the drivetrain. I gripe every time I put them on, but I'm too cheap to spend money on another pair with straps... once they're on they are fine.