Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought a house with a sweet cellar for wrenching...now I want to set it up. I've been wrenching for a few years, but always had to convert my living room into the shop to do any work, so I could never stock up on anything...

I thought of this as I've wanted to buy a couple cable sets to have on hand rather than heading to the shop each time I need something. What are your must have items in your shop? (I've got a stand and Park's advanced tool set)

·
Registered
457 Posts
it may be overkill but i would reccomend a decent sized 'parts washer' ... and a nice sized workbench that has a lip around the edge to catch those small rolling peices ...

·
Registered
3,310 Posts
a few yards of housing, a few cables, ferrules and end caps, brake fluid, tubes (I usually buy 20 at a time), grease, chain lube, oil, chains, brake pads and rotors, spokes in the sizes I need... even tires sometimes.

some of these are because I stock up when there are deals (for example, when sram changed the designations of their chains from pc-59 to 951 or whatever they are called now, nashbar had the 59s for like $10, so I bought 20 of them), or to save shipping because I can't stand the shops around me, and paying for shipping on something like a $2 cable seems like a waste. Others are because I know they will wear out and I don't want to not ride because I'm waiting for something (some things like brake pads you may be waiting for even if you go to an LBS, they may not have pads for your brakes).

Of course you don't want to go too overboard with things you may not be using forever, but knowing you aren't going to have to wait for a consumable part is nice. Also, I've never known any pike part to get cheaper over time.

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
Agree with Joules....