Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to set up my new TALAS RL. The manual, however, is a little confusing. They recommend a pressure setting of about 70 PSI for my wieght (165 lbs), but go on to say that due to the air hose length coming from my shock pump, the actual reading on the pump may be 10-20 PSI lower than what is really in the shock chamber. Being that the pressure tolerances seem pretty tight (around 5 PSI between weight ranges) I am curious as to how I should accurately set up my shock. There is also something in the manual about sag needing to be around 1 5/16" for a freeride setting, but to achieve this level of sag, I have to run almost no pressure in the fork (around a 25-30 PSI reading on the shock pump) and it almost bottoms out riding on my driveway. Again, the manual is confusing in this area.

Any help is appreciated, as I am relatively new to this and do not know much about what I am doing!

·
Bad Case of the Mondays
4,009 Posts
Jasonp said:
I am trying to set up my new TALAS RL. The manual, however, is a little confusing. They recommend a pressure setting of about 70 PSI for my wieght (165 lbs), but go on to say that due to the air hose length coming from my shock pump, the actual reading on the pump may be 10-20 PSI lower than what is really in the shock chamber. Being that the pressure tolerances seem pretty tight (around 5 PSI between weight ranges) I am curious as to how I should accurately set up my shock. There is also something in the manual about sag needing to be around 1 5/16" for a freeride setting, but to achieve this level of sag, I have to run almost no pressure in the fork (around a 25-30 PSI reading on the shock pump) and it almost bottoms out riding on my driveway. Again, the manual is confusing in this area.

Any help is appreciated, as I am relatively new to this and do not know much about what I am doing!