Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking of getting a Turner in a few months. Would like to get a head start for a set up for a clydes. I've been riding about 15 years with a 6 year break, got a motorcycle and did some RC racing :D, not giving up the motorcycle totally, just will be doing more track days....a lot more. I've been riding a Truth since 2001 witch has parts from and old Stumpjumper, but they still work just find. Dont know if i want a RFX or 5 spot. I'm leaning more toward the RFX cause i'm 215+ lbs.

So if anyone has any set up ideas...please post up.

Thanks
Jason

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
Jase810 said:
Thinking of getting a Turner in a few months. Would like to get a head start for a set up for a clydes. I've been riding about 15 years with a 6 year break, got a motorcycle and did some RC racing :D, not giving up the motorcycle totally, just will be doing more track days....a lot more. I've been riding a Truth since 2001 witch has parts from and old Stumpjumper, but they still work just find. Dont know if i want a RFX or 5 spot. I'm leaning more toward the RFX cause i'm 215+ lbs.

So if anyone has any set up ideas...please post up.

Thanks
Jason
You've only got 5 pounds or so on me and I ride an '05 Five Spot. There are plenty of clydes on 'Spots; its plenty strong for what it was designed for. The real issue in deciding between the 'Spot and the RFX is probably intended use. If you like technical climbs as much as descending and overall build weight is a consideration I say go with the 'Spot. If you want a burlier build, don't care to climb to the top fast, and plan on doing a lot of jumping/hucking then get the RFX. (And I'm skipping over a lot such as geometry differences between the two.)