Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I now have several rides in on my new Schwalbe Evo RaceGuard 29er Thunder Burts and I have to say their performance has been less than stellar. Three major complaints:

1) One of the tires I received has a distinct wobble in the casing. I am running them tubeless and the tire bead is seated correctly and I even went to the trouble of popping the tire bead out of the rim and re seating and the wobble is still there. I have been running tubeless for many years and have mounted many tires and I believe this is a non uniform casing issue. Of the three issues I have this one is more of a nuisance rather than a major problem.

2) When cornering at high speeds and shifting from the smoother center section of the tire to the larger knobs on the sidewall the transition is destabilizing. The lack of a smooth transition reduces my confidence in the tire when cornering at high speeds. In addition, the larger knobs have a tendency to make the tire want to climb the edges on narrow concave single track. I might be able to get use to the transition if it were not for the third issue which in my mind is a major problem.