Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Tool
1,973 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got off the phone with Schwalbe. I have very little experience with this company, but so far I like them very much.

When I phoned them, my call was answered immediately. And the person who answered was knowledgeable and got me everything I needed on the spot. No transfers, no lack of information.

The reason I put this specific model tire in the subject line is because Schwalbe will send free replacement studs to their customers! I was quite pleasantly surprised by this. I did not think to ask if they offer this for other models, but I would imagine they do.

Note that the Ice Spiker Pros use carbide studs in an aluminum body. The other Schwalbe models use carbide studs in steel bodies.

I also learned that no special tools are required to install replacement studs. Simply use something like needle nose pliers to jam the studs into their cavities.

Also, Schwalbe recommends breaking new studded tires in on the pavement for ~25 miles (hopefully they'll start putting this tidbit on the packaging - my tires came with no such information). This puts more pressure on the studs, assuring they're fully seated and reduces the chances of losing studs.

Here is their number for North American customers: 1-888-700-5860

-Pete

·
Registered
95 Posts
Are they sending you new studs? The shop I got my tires at said they were out of replacement studs? I actually lost at least two full knobs from our last ride did you notice the same?

·
Tool
1,973 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes. I actually lost about 23 studs on that first ride. I probably should have pushed the bike up a couple of those climbs, as that's what was most likely to have pulled them out. The majority of the ones I lost were in the middle of the tire.

Schwalbe said no problem and they're apparently sending them out today, so I would assume that means they have them on hand. Give 'em a call.