Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody :)
My rocket rons are nearly worne out and its time to get new tyres.
I am an amateur freerider and i ride in muddy and semi dry terrains.
I dont now witch tyre i should put in front...a Schwalbe Hans Dampf performance 2.35 or a Schwalbe Nobby Nic performance 2.4?I cant really go wider than 2.4.I will put a Nobby nic 2.25 at the back.
Thanks... :)

·
Registered
214 Posts
Hans Dampf. I heard Nobby Nics tend to let go suddenly without any sign. It's ok rear but on the front you need a heavy duty tire that won't surprise you.

If you really an amateur freerider you could look at Maxxis High Roller II for the front wheel and Maxxis Ardent for the rear wheel. They say it's a good combination. They last longer than Schwalbe tires according to riders reports.

·
Ski during the off-season
487 Posts
Go with the Schwalbe Hans Dampf 2.35 upfront. One of the guys I ride with had an HD 2.35 upfront and a NN on the rear. He somehow punctured the NN, and ended up purchasing a HD for the rear as well, although, he purchased the version with the softer compound for the rear. He loves the setup.

This winter I rode with a HD 2.35 upfront as well. My SJ came with a specialized Purgatory upfront and a Control in the rear -- the Control is supposed to have a similar tread design as the NN. I was not very impressed by it. When I placed the HD upfront, I moved the Purgatory to the rear. Nice combination for the damp winter weather.

I have switched to Rocket Ron's for summer, and I can feel the weight difference -- with my 29'er wheels, it is a difference of over a pound in rotational weight... ;-)

·
Registered
16 Posts