Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I may hit up SG tomorrow and I have never ridden there.
Anyone have a route and direction suggestions? Maybe a 15 ish mile ride. Prefer single track.

Thanks!

·
F*** it
1,277 Posts
Down to the tree farm and back would be a good legal option. I don't know all the trail names, but it's basically just heading north from the Gap. John Nicholas might be a better ride, especially on a weekday.

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I don't see a tree farm on MTB projects.
I was looking at maybe Skyline to John Nicholas and back. BUT have no idea if that is a fun route. It is an out n back which isn't great but since it's my first time there maybe not to bad?
Are some of the trails the hiking only? I will be riding tomorrow morning so probably not much foot traffic....

·
F*** it
1,277 Posts
Thanks. I don't see a tree farm on MTB projects.
I was looking at maybe Skyline to John Nicholas and back. BUT have no idea if that is a fun route. It is an out n back which isn't great but since it's my first time there maybe not to bad?
Are some of the trails the hiking only? I will be riding tomorrow morning so probably not much foot traffic....
That is NOT a great route. Starting at Castle Rock would be better. Or just start at the bottom on Black Rd. if that's closer.

·
Registered
635 Posts
That is NOT a great route. Starting at Castle Rock would be better. Or just start at the bottom on Black Rd. if that's closer.
Yeah, and depends on preference for climbing first then descending, or v.v.

If prefer climb then descend overall, then you can ride: John Nicholas Trail to Skyline Trail to Saratoga Gap (and can extend by droppinh into Long Ridge).

Pretty much an out-and-back but enjoyable esp since first time there.

·
Registered
337 Posts